“Impossible!”

by SiriusOryon

“I think he is in love with me!” Says the pretty young maiden.

Impossible!” Her elder replies, “You are too young to know what love is.”

After the maiden is ordered to stay away from her young lover, he sneaks up to her window on moonlit nights, just to see her face and hear her whisper to him through the wind.

“I love him!” The young maiden exclaims when the elder catches the two young lovers at the window one night.

Impossible!” Yells the elder as the two are separated. “You have only seen this one boy and must meet more to know what you truly love.”

The elders send the young lad off to war and force the pretty young maiden into a marriage of their arrangement against her will.

Some time and a few children later, the young mother is found crying over a letter she has written. Her cruel husband discerns it is to her former lover and laughs in disdain as he scorns her.

“I have known you and ravaged you and you have born my children. You are not so pretty or young anymore and he has forgotten you! He will never see your letter!”

Impossible!” She cries inconsolably. “We are in love and he can never forget me!”

The passion in her eyes for her beloved burns her husband to his core, and in a fit of envious rage, he arranges to have her former lover murdered, soon after gaining the approval of her elder to do so.

Upon being told by one of the townspeople that her beloved has been killed, a blank stare comes over her face and she declares flatly “Impossible! I have just written him a letter and must wait to hear back from him!”

Unable to accept his death, she falls into a state of perpetual grief and mourning. Her husband further incensed by the humiliation of his wife’s undying affection for her deceased former lover, has her thrown into prison until she renounces the lover and the love she shares with him.

Some time passes and the husband questions the prison guard as to the condition of his wife’s surrender. Seeing to it that the prison sentence is very uncomfortable for her, he is shocked to learn of her continued defiance.

“She refuses to renounce him my lord.” Says the guard to the husband. “What?! Did you withhold food and water as I instructed?” The husband asks. “Yes,” the guard answers, “She has been eating pieces of the letter she wrote to the lad as her food.”

Impossible!” Her husband finally exclaims. “She has gone mad! If she thinks this silly young puppy love her only food, then she shall starve to death and meet him in the grave!”

After some more time passes, the guard returns to the cell of the woman, expecting her to be dead from starvation, and instead hears voices coming from her cell.

“I love you.” Says a passionate male voice. “Yes my love, as I love you.” Answers a female voice. “I knew you would come back for me someday. How did you find me beloved?” Asks the female voice. “I got your letter, and I came as soon as I could.” The male voice replies.

Impossible!” The incredulous guard thinks to himself, as he quickly runs to find the woman’s husband. When in exasperated breaths the guard recounts to the husband what he overheard, the husband responds in angry disbelief “IMPOSSIBLE!”

The guard and the husband briskly gather some men to surround the prison cell where the woman was held, to catch the man who had been heard inside with her in case he attempted escape.

Once they were sure all exits were secured, the husband, the guard, and a few men rushed into her cell with much force and weapons drawn.

What they found left their minds aghast. The only things inside the cell were some soiled clothing and a curious piece of paper with scribbled handwriting on it that was not the penmanship of the woman who was prisoner of that cell.

In a panic, the husband picked up the piece of paper and crumpled it into his pocket. He yelled for the men to find the escapees. They searched all the land but no trace of the woman or any other man was ever found.

Exhausted and bewildered, the husband defeated in his attempts to find his wife, finally pulled the little piece of paper from his pocket that was found in her empty prison cell and read it aloud.

“I got your letter and I came as soon as I could. How dare they say we are not in love? Keep us apart? Try as they may my love, all I can say to that is ‘Impossible!’”